Zidane should have put the boot in
My heart wanted France, my head said Italy... and in the end my head got it right.
As usual we were down at the Red Lion Club for the match. All the usual Kankas made it, myself, Sir Eski kanka, Smart Arse Yankee kanka Dave, Mrs. Smart Arse Yankee kanka Suzanne and we had the pleasure of welcoming back to Ankara Spine Kanka Steve (formally Istanbul Kanka) and his wonderful friend French Kanka Hande (who for work reasons was actually supporting Italy).
The final was one hell of a match. The French prooved they can dive with the best and at the same time went all out for the win.
The second half especially should have seen a French goal but by God the Italian defence was good. For a match that showed brilliance from both sides there were very little shots on goal.
But then came the defining moment.
The ball was in midfield when the referee blew his whistle for something off the ball.
The replay showed that Materazzi slightly held on to Zidane but at the same time gave Zidane something that the ITV commentators described as a "nipple tweak".
Zidane seemed to ignore it for a few seconds and then came back and headbutted Materazzi in the chest. After what seemed an enternity Zidane was finally given a red card, and rightly so.
I have no idea whether Zidane was justified in retaliating for the nipple tweak, a move which has its place in the bedroom but one which I'm yet to experience of the football field.
A moment of insanity from Zidane? Possibly. But only because the fellow was in his last ever football match. Instead of headbutting Matterazzi he should have king hit him and then put the boot in when the bloke was on the ground. Italy had no more substitutes left, Zidane was going to get sent off anyway and so why not take the fellow out of the game as well.
The match of course went to penalties and despite the fact that the vast majority of the Red Lion Club were supporting France, French Kanka Hande gave a little cheer each time the Italians scored.
I was still hopeful until the last penalty kick. Italy needed to score to win the Cup. And then my nightmares came back to haunt me.
Grosso, yes Grosso. The bastard who fell over in the box over Lucas Neill to earn Italy the penalty kick that saw them go past Australia was going to take the last penalty kick.
I cursed and cursed, and yes Grosso scored and thus we have the Italians wearing their World Cup medals tonight.
I just hope they saviour the moment before heading back home and playing in Serie C.
PHOTOCAPTION: Career over Mr. Zidane. (photo nicked from the SMH)